The Lover by Marguerite Duras

The Lover by Marguerite Duras

This book changed the way I read literature. It was the first book I remember reading that left an actual TASTE in my mouth; it didn’t matter what the story was about as much as the way Duras laid the story out on the page, like a succulent French meal. I think that this is the book that made me understand poetry in a visceral way. I read it when I was much too young – 13? 14? – and it may have ruined the way I view love, but it gave me sensuality and juicy words and imagery that has never, ever left me. Such a good book!

Leave a Reply

