What I Did This Summer

This was a pretty good summer. My Bookshop Workshop reading of DUCKLINGS was pretty awesome.

bookshop workshop

 

The Bookshop Workshop Crew:

Joel Glassman (producer), Dominic Finocchiaro, Sarah Einspanier, Sarah DeLappe, Dan O’Neil, Kevin Kautzman and yours truly. These names are not listed in order so – yeah.

I spent a few weeks making revisions on DUCKLINGS. In July I had a small, closed 2nd reading of DUCKLINGS with willing actors, a director, snacks and alcohol – good times.

burris

 

In January 2015 I’ll be presenting Ducklings at the National Black Theater as part of their I Am Soul Reading Series.

I loved my time in Dallas, Texas, even though it was only a few days. My play THE JOHNSONS was read as part of Kitchen Dog Theater’s 2014 New Works Festival. I was delighted with the feedback I received, as well as the beer and various types of popcorn! I also got a chance to see my kid brother and his wife who live in Texas; they told me about the 3-bedroom house they bought for under $300,000 over dinner and I nearly choked on my fish! Sometimes I wonder what exactly I’m doing in New York. But then I remember…

kitchen dog beer

At the request of the puppet theater company Drama of Works, I completed a first draft of my children’s play CINDY, a modern-day retelling of Cinderella, which I’m pretty excited about. Stay tuned.

cinderella

I finished a first draft of my contemporary opera HUNTER AND JANE. I’m going to pull together some sort of workshop and hope to produce it sometime in 2015. I’m very nervous about the prospect of INCORPORATING MUSIC into one of my plays, but I’m also extremely excited by it. What the hell, right? Why not??

THIS/THAT, the performance series I’m helping to curate at The Brick in Williamsburg, had a successful first show! Curating is awesome. For my information, look for the FaceBook page: THIS/THAT.

this that 3

 

The piece I personally curated was a dance piece, choreographed by one of my favorite choreographers, Joya Powell.

this that 1this that 2

What else? I did yoga, rode my bike, worked a lot as a babysitter and went on a few dates. I even made it to Rockaway Beach once – that was nice.

Oh, and another thing. I’m starting a theater company. You heard it here first.

THE TABLE THEATER IS COMING.

Leave a Reply

